What is it with Lego and Geeks? They are fascinated with Lego – I guess it takes them back to their ‘childhood’! Its very sweet when the most loveliest geeks I know wanted the same Christmas present as my bosses teenage son… or maybe a bit worrying!

When I say geek do I mean boy or girl? When I say geek in this context, I mean either girls or boys who love computers. There are many definitions of the word, but for this post, this is what I will mean!

Lego have currently created a range of Lego products specifically aimed at girls. The range is called ‘Friends’. It includes being able to make things like beauty salons or girly convertibles. This is all very lovely, but I did not see the need to create a ‘special’ range. What worries me is that by doing this, it reinforces that their other Lego products is aimed at boys only. It reinforces that things like Star Trek is for boys only. By doing this, Lego has turned itself into a boys only product.

If the girly Lego acts as a bridge to getting children into creative toys such as Lego and play-doh and then those skills are transferred onto other things like Engineering or drawing its fabulous, however I really don’t want girls to think they have to restrict themselves to Lego girl products only. Making something pink doesn’t make it for girls! These are some initial thoughts that I hope to be expanding on in the next few days, but I kind of just needed to get this online! Feel free to give me an opinion!

